Paying it forward

Writing about my friend’s journey from Syria to Germany (read Part 1 and Part 2), reminded me that transporting refugees is a big business. Human trafficking in general, but I find the bleeding dry of people running away from war and hunger, a particularly horrific crime.

My friend Asif payed someone to go from Turky to Greece, to drive him from Thessaloniki to the Macedonian border, to help him cross the Hungarian border and to drive him from Hungary to Germany. He paid thousands of Euros to get to Germany (you can get a flight from Turkey to Germany from 70,00€). He was able to pay that. What about the many refugees, including women and children who pay their last cent to get to Greece? They have no money to eat or sleep in something with a roof (Asif slept outside quite a bit even though he did have money).

It is terrible what we are asking these people to do before we get them help. Is there really no way to get together and say, right, refugees can come to the German embassy in ankara and we will process them there and book them a ticket for 70,00€ to go to Germany in 3 hours instead of three months. We could even feed them on the way!

Why should we do this? Because we are guilty by association if we don’t. As a German I know a little bit about that. I’d like my children to be proud of my generation.

3 Gedanken zu „Paying it forward

  1. Hi,
    I know a Mother of All Trades. I was on a cruise ship. We picked up refugees. It’s a terrible problem. Thanks for writing about it.
    I met you in the Community Pool where you indicated you are a new blogger. I help new bloggers at my site. Click my picture to see the kind of articles I have on my blog. Tips for engaging readers, improving content, and increasing traffic are waiting for you. I also offer ten networking opportunities each month and free incentives for subscribing.
    Janice

    Gefällt mir

Kommentar verfassen

